My Dream Wedding: Outdoor/Barn Version

I spend a lot of time on Style Me Pretty, Green Wedding Shoes and the Ruffled blog.

If you know what I am talking about then we are on the road to becoming best friends. I do this to search for new ideas to further my own wedding photography business in Chicago, but also just to drool over what other brides are doing.

Sure, I don’t exactly have a ring on my finger just yet, but a girl can dream, right?

The problem is that with so many options available, I am having trouble choosing one coherent theme. If I put all of my hopes and wishes together into one wedding, it might be more Alice in Wonderland than anything else. That is why I am going to break down my dream wedding into several different blogs, each with a new theme. I hope that this will help you with your own wedding planning, plus it will justify my need to drool a little more over everything that the internet has to offer.

So my first theme is an outdoor wedding with the ceremony being held in a barn. I imagine that my groom and his best buds will be wearing suspenders, maybe some tweed vests and jaunty caps:

susp

As for me, there are a million dresses that I might choose, but I love this one with the lacy cap sleeves and scalloped edging:

bride

Our ceremony would be held in the middle of a field, or under a giant tree that feels like it could only exist in a dream. I would have cute accents like these flowers in bottles, which would be easy to do myself. I love this altar made of books, since I am an avid reader, but I might go for something with twigs, berries and flowers.

bottle books

If possible, we would stand on a giant hay bale and kiss as the sun sets behind us. We will also bring along our adorable dog – yet to be adopted – and he/she would be a ring bearer and all around cute member of the wedding party.

dog hay

Our barn ceremony would be decked out to the max, yet still conveying a sense of rustic chic. Is that a thing? There will be chandeliers and tons of greenery, but won’t feel so stuffy that people won’t take off their shoes and dance the night away.

barn dance

Doesn’t that sound like a beautiful day? It sure does to me.

Leave a Reply

